the funniest comedy in the world...
Cart 0

Richard Pryor (2xLP, retail variant Black Vinyl)


Standard black vinyl edition. 

A legend. Electric. Transformative. The greatest of all time. There’s no superlative that Richard Pryor hasn’t already earned, and with good reason. From the very start, his voice was both singular, truly unmatched, and plural, containing multitudes. In a breath, he embodies a full swath of humanity, dropping his audience into the raucousness of Hank’s Place, becoming everyone from the streetwise handyman to the lecherous farmers, beautiful black Irma who loved to tell people to kiss her ass to Weasel who spent all the time he wasn’t signifying on negging potential marks. He dances between pimps Coldblood and Smooth, dips into the persona of Tarcy the cop, and transforms into tight-lipped Jesse, the basketball beast. In another, he paints an entire scene-within-a-scene with “Prison Play.” He’s everyone (a not uncomfortable feature of his existence: having grown up Black in a Jewish tenement in an Italian neighborhood, he jokes that the general attitude among the local toughs was “Get him! He’s all of ‘em!”), everything, everywhere. Along the way, Pryor punctuates every laugh with a jab, sharply rebuking all the social ills that seek to divide and conquer, all the filthy, inhumane -isms that offend the senses (or rightly should). And he does it all while assuring his audience they have nothing to fear from the Black man—except his thoughts. 

We’ve teamed up with Omnivore Records and Richard Pryor’s production company Indigo to pack this double-deluxe vinyl release, Richard Pryor, with delights aplenty: sides one and two are the original, but newly remastered classic album, recorded live at The Troubadour in 1968; sides three and four are bonus material recorded at the same time, originally issued as tracks on Evolution/Revolution: The Early Years (1966-1974), now on vinyl for the very first time. And we’ve wrapped it all up with the original Grammy-nominated cover art (designed by Gary Burden) updated with the addition of the border art by another legend, Bay Area surfer and poster artist Rick Griffin, who also designed the labels. In Pryor’s terms, we’re fully confident: this one’s a real wing-dang-doodle!

Track Listing

Side A
  1. Super Nigger
  2. Girls
  3. Farting
  4. Prison Play
Side B
  1. T.V. Panel Show
  2. Smells
  3. Army Life
  4. Frankenstein
Side C
  1. Peoria
  2. Improv, Pt. 1
  3. Heart & Brain
  4. Taxi Cabs & Subways
  5. Playboy Club
  6. Rumplestiltskin
  7. Slippin' in Poo Poo
  8. Birth Control
  9. Nigger Babies
  10. Faith Healer
  11. Black Power 
  12. I Feel
  13. Jail
Side D
  1. Directions
  2. Movie Stars in the Bathroom
  3. War Movies
  4. The Army
  5. Hippy Days
  6. Hank's Place
  7. Improv Pt. 2
  8. Mankind

Share this Product